top of page
  • Folkish Odinism Dorset

What do I bring with me when I give Blot to the Gods?

What do I bring with me when I give blot to the Gods? Here is a check list. It is easy to forget things. You don't necesarily need all of this. It is just what 'I' bring with me. Is there anything that you find useful to bring with you when giving blot to the Gods? How do you incorporate it into your rites?

( I always give blot to the Gods in sacred clearings in the woods or at standing stones/stone monoliths or burial mounds. You can make your own stone altars)

Check list. 1. Glass bottle with sacred earth from the site where I last gave blot to the Gods + a drop of my blood to sprinkle on the ground as part of my consecration ritual. (PS consecration just means to set aside land for sacred use. It is not just a xtian word) 2. Odinic Rite flag and Englisc white dragon flag 3. parracord & poles for hanging flags 4. metal Fire pit to keep fire off ground 5. wood, fire gel, matches, paper & kindling 6. 5ft Odin Idol 7. large wooden Thors hammer 8. Blot bowl & Pine twig to consecrate the ground, idols & people 9. Bread, fruit, cake, whole chicken, pigs head or Hair /fur/feathers on animal sacrifice if you hunt. 10. Ox heart for the heart positioned hole carved into Wodens Godpole 11. Wooden rune or sun cross to burn (wrapped in fabric & magnesium wire to burn better 12. leather bound OR Book of blotar 13. folding table & altar cloth for when no large rocks are available 14. Ceremonial staff topped with sun cross 15. Valknut banner & pole to hang it on 16. mead, horn to drink & use in the blot bowl 17. Large musical / hunting horn to call to the 4 winds & the Gods 18. Wind chimes to hang up or wind harp 19. base shamanic drum with deep sound (not the silly £20 wicca drums) 20. parcel chuck/truck to help carry things from the van to the sacred clearing. 21 Bell



120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Elves

Hail to Thor in Old English

Old English: Wæs þu hæl Þunor! Wæs þu hæl héahþunriend, halgiend, Heofones miht, maeran, mancynnes weard. Þu afiehtest wið aglæcan, Esa andsacan, and hie ðryscest mid ðære fyrenan æcxe. Modern English

bottom of page