top of page
  • Folkish Odinism Dorset

Moral code

The moral code of the Odinic Rite is codified in those excerpts from the ‘Havamàl,’ which we know as ‘The Nine Virtues’ and the ‘Nine Noble Charges.’ *****The Nine Noble Virtues Courage Truth Honour Fidelity Discipline Hospitality Self-reliance Industriousness Perseverance

*****The Nine Charges 1. To maintain candour and fidelity in love and devotion to the tried friend: though he strike me I will do him no scathe. 2. Never to take wrong-some oath: for great and grim is the reward for the breaking of plighted troth. 3. To deal not hardly with the humble and lowly. 4. To remember the respect that is due to great age. 5. To suffer no evil to go un-remedied and to fight against the enemies of family, nation, race and faith: my foes I will fight in the field, nor will I stay to be burned in my house. 6. To succour the friendless but to put no faith in the pledged word of a stranger people. 7. If I hear the fool’s word of a drunken man I will strive not: for many a grief and the very death grows from such things. 8. To give kind heed to dead men: straw dead, sea dead, or sword dead. 9. To abide by the enactment of lawful authority and to bear with courage the decrees of the Norns.

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trolls

Elves

bottom of page