top of page
  • Folkish Odinism Dorset

A 5th-century fight on a Wessex shore

Updated: Nov 21, 2020


A 5th-century fight on a Wessex shore


Wearing my wulfskin from my father’s grave

At the battlefield edge, I stood

Mine ancestor’s battle cry filled my ears

My arms felt strong as I stared at my foe

I had no fear but nor was I brave


Bravery is for mere men and their whims

I am more than a man now

As Woden is my witness my light will not dim

I focus on his standard with my one eye closed

The wind blows, the drum beats & the nearby waves crash,

Aye, but it is Grim


The mortals across the field screamed & beat their shield

To my mind’s eye, they were but sheep a squealing

Before me, stood my grandfather and his banner men

His eyes bright, not sad as they were in life

The Elves told me not to yield

They looked as they did to a child that was I

When they left for war and never returned years ago

I called for Woden to witness my deeds upon this field


My arms and legs felt boneless and light

Axe, twas a feather in my hands

As wulf and I became one, once more

My ‘self’ was now a faded dream & out of sight

The spit dripped off my teeth

Like the blood of my prey will taste this night


In a flash of time, I looked into the eyes of my foe

Across the field and upon them, I was

I cleaved at all the foreign men before me & struck them so

Many lay there put to sleep who were somebody’s countrymen

The frosty ground beneath me slickened with the blood of the dead

I stepped on a soldier who looked up and said careful where ye tread!


My growl vibrated through my teeth in a deafening roar

To my ears surprise it was the name “WODEN!!!!!” that I yelled

The wulfs roar was not for the ears of men.

As mine axe snapped on a foreigners head, he lived no more

He laid their smitten in battle with nothing to show above his shoulders

Mine axe a sunder, I bore the enemies spear forth to the fight.

Looking up in shock with a man's eyes for the first time

So many lay there dead upon the shore


There I stood, as a man once again

All around me, men cried Woden’s name in cheer!

I looked behind me and to the side, as my own men looked at me in fear


Out of all the bloodied flesh a sunder, none were to be my match this day

I dropped to my knees, arms dead & as heavy as iron

A horn beaked raven stared at the feast which made him sway.

I looked at his eyes and asked him to tell Woden of me

That I may he replied, that I may……..




85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hail to Thor in Old English

Old English: Wæs þu hæl Þunor! Wæs þu hæl héahþunriend, halgiend, Heofones miht, maeran, mancynnes weard. Þu afiehtest wið aglæcan, Esa andsacan, and hie ðryscest mid ðære fyrenan æcxe. Modern English

Hail to Frigg

Old English: Wæs þu hæl, Frig! Freolicu folccwen, ful cyrtenu. Ides ælfscinu, anlicu, eorclanstan Esa, gleaw on geðonce, goldhroden, mode geþungen, leohte leofrune. Þu canst cræft eald and eacan, þ

bottom of page